Ugandan Actors and Nigerian Stars Shine at iKON Awards 2024

Kampala, Uganda: The iKON Awards 2024, held at the esteemed Kampala Serena Hotel over the weekend, celebrated the remarkable achievements of creatives from Uganda and across Africa in the realm of film.

Among the night’s standout winners was the compelling drama “Unheard,” directed by Polly Kamukama and Joseph Ken Ssebaggala. The film, featuring stellar performances by Jackline Katusime, Joseph Kahirimbanyi, and Cyril Baryabawe, clinched the prestigious Best Film Award along with an impressive array of six other accolades. These included Best Director, Best Actress in a Leading Role, Best Sound, Best Makeup and Special Effects, Best Production Design, and the Emerging Film Award.

Set against the backdrop of a remote fishing village in South Western Uganda and narrated in the Rukiga dialect, “Unheard” delves into the story of a courageous young widow who defies age-old traditions, leaving an indelible mark on her community.

In her acceptance speech, director Polly Kamukama revealed the deeply personal journey behind the film, spanning back to her university days in 2011. “The original idea was to tell a story about my mother, but over time, I was inspired by the resilience of women breaking barriers in our society,” she shared, reflecting on the profound impact of the narrative.

Addressing the audience, Gender Minister Amongi, representing President Museveni, emphasized the importance of protecting intellectual property rights and fostering collaboration within the industry. “It’s high time the government rallied behind Ugandan talent and supported their endeavors on the global stage,” she affirmed, echoing the sentiment of pride in the burgeoning international recognition garnered by Ugandan artists.

Notably, Nigerian luminaries such as Osita Iheme, popularly known as Pawpaw, and acclaimed actress Nancy Isime were also among the distinguished honorees at the event, underscoring the collaborative spirit and cross-cultural exchange prevalent in Africa’s vibrant film landscape.

ALSO READ:  Speaker Among Calls for Clarification

As the curtain fell on the 2nd edition of the iKON Awards, it was a testament to the boundless creativity and unwavering dedication of African filmmakers in shaping narratives that resonate both locally and globally, reaffirming the continent’s position as a powerhouse of cinematic brilliance.


Best Film
The Kitara Chronicles – Yiga Sadat, Kizito Sudaisy Sebbowa
The Passenger – Meddy Sserwada, Hadijah Nakanjako

Unheard – Polly Kamukama, Joseph Ken Ssebaggala (WINNER)
All for Love – Okurut Nego Paul

Best Director

Joseph Ken Ssebaggala – Unheard (WINNER)
Hadijah Nakanjako – The Passenger
Yiga Sadat – The Kitara Chronicles
Patrick Lorimo – Maid of Honor

Best Actress in a Leading Role
Fauziah Nakiboneka – Maid of Honor

Jackline Katusiime – Unheard (WINNER)
Rehema Mutesi – Ganyana
Tania Shakirah Kankindi – All for Love

Best Actor in a Leading Role
Kenneth Rukundo – All for Love
Fenando Kamugisha – The Fallen Advocate

Henry Nathan Katongole – The Passenger (WINNER)
Masadde Isa Yusuf – The Kitara Chronicles

Best Actor in a Supporting Role
Joseph Kahirimbanyi – Unheard
Mathew Kavuma – Maid of Honor

Blair Koono – Enkuba (WINNER)
Sulait Mulimira – Ganyana

Best Actress in a Supporting Role
Edith Baganda – Maid of Honor

Allen Musumba – The Passenger (WINNER)
Diana Kahunde – All for Love
Florence Naiga – Ganyana

Best Director of Photography
The Fallen Advocate – Benson Kamau Muigai

The Passenger – Izaek Ekuka (WINNER)
Unheard – Kitsha Kyasi Joseph
The Kitara Chronicles – Kizito Sudaisy Sebbowa

Best Screenplay
The Kitara Chronicles by Yiga Sadat, Masadde Isa Yusuf
The Passenger by Meddy Sserwada

ALSO READ:  Kitara FC Crushes URA, Extends Lead in UPL

Maid of Honor by Patrick Lorimo (WINNER)
Unheard by Polly Kamukama

Best Sound
Elly Musinguzi – Nkwanzi’s Slip
Simon Agola, Michael Kavuma – Maid of Honor
Isiko Abubaker – The Passenger

Kaz Kasozi – Unheard (WINNER)

Best Editor

Emma Daka Waira – The Passenger (WINNER)
Joseph Ken Ssebaggala – Unheard
Derrick Taremwa – Enkuba
Okurut Nego Paul – All for Love

Best Costume Design

Nabanja Hikmah, Lukwago Paluku, Tumusiime Jackie – The Kitara Chronicles (WINNER)
Kyosiima Ginny – Unheard
Matilda Kavuma – Maid of Honor
Julian Kirabo, Ali Musinguzi, Isaac Kyakoonye, Patricia Nabirye – The Tale of Our Times

Best Makeup and Special Effects
Esther Nakaziba – Maid of Honor

Rose Lily Kebirungi – Unheard (WINNER)
Lisa Sonia, Shadia Nakaddu, Cathy Kyokunda, Joana Nabakiibi – The Tale of Our Times
Hikmah Nabbanja, Patience Nakibuka Shadia – The Kitara Chronicles

Best Production Design

Francis Byaruhanga – Unheard (WINNER)

Rutaro Abel – The Tale of Our Times
Yiga Sadat – The Kitara Chronicles
Imran Musabeh – The Passenger

Best Visual Effects
Cruz Abdullah, Faisal Mukalazi, Patrick Chris Black – The Tale of Our Times

Tusingwire Alex – The Kitara Chronicles (WINNER)
Wavamuno Caeser, Suuna Abubakar – Enkuba

Best Short Film
Taama – Arthur Nsubuga
Ziwa – Samuel Tebandeke

Building 62 – Hakim Zziwa (WINNER)
The Last Shoemaker – Ali Musoke

Best Documentary

The Shadow Pandemic – Ssekandi Jimmy (WINNER)
The Land of Peace – Ali Kibirige, Herbert Jjuuko, James Twino
Dear Queen – Jamir Jamal Musenze

Best Animation Film
The Guardian – Denis Junior Dhikusooka

ALSO READ:  Julius Mucunguzi Takes Charge as Electoral Commission's New Spokesperson

Herderboy – Raymond Malinga (WINNER)
Lost – Ashiraf Mulima

Best TV Series
Prestige – Nathan Magoola

Damalie – Doreen Mirembe (WINNER)
Beloved – Nathan Magoola

Best Actor in a TV Series
Raymond Rushabiro – Prestige
Dennis Kinani – Damalie

Symon Base Kalema – Prestige (WINNER)

Best Actress in a TV Series

Doreen Mirembe – Damalie (WINNER)
Sally Elizabeth Bwamimpeke – Prestige
Faith Kirabo – Beloved

Best Student Film
Find Me Online – Brian “Vons” Mukisa
I Sold Me Out – Lubeera Saphina
Scold’s Bridle – Ssemwogerere Nurudeen

Silent Scream – Otim Gerald (WINNER)

Ikon Rising Star
Faith Kirabo
Joseph Kahirimbanyi

King Missy Ochola (WINNER)

Ikon Rising Star (Africa)
Nancy Isime

– Advertisement. –

Lifetime Achievement Award
Michael Wawuyo Sr.

Emerging Film Award

African Ikon Award
Osita Iheme

The Ikon Awards are an initiative of Reach A Hand Uganda (RAHU) as a platform to recognise and celebrate innovation and creativity in Uganda’s film and television industry and supported by Sauti Plus Media Hub, UNESCO, Radiant, Uganda Airlines, Kampala Serena Hotel, Next Media, Divine Resort Mukono, Sozo Films, Coal360, ATS Events, Light For The world, Aquafina, Cinema UG, Uganda Key Populations Consortium, Media Challenge Initiative, Print Creations and Ramsey Films.

The awards were attended by special guests from Nigeria’s film industry, including Ramsey Nouah; Osite Iheme; Nancy Isime, Chris Odeh and Uche Ateli.

This year’s edition saw a total of 203 films and series submitted for nomination.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top